Teaching Standards

Teaching Standards

The Australian Institute of Teaching and School Leaders' (AITSL) Professional Teaching Standards and the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT) Standards for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics are both important to teachers' consideration of professional engagement domain and the focus of the Engaging All Students community, that a teacher knows their students, regardless of  the diversity of their background and learning experiences.

AITSL Professional Teaching Standards

The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers outline the three domains:Teacher Professional Knowledge, Professional Practice, Professional Engagement

Professional Knowledge

S1   Know students and how they learn

1.1   Physical, social and intellectual development and characteristics of students

1.2   Understand how students learn

1.3   Students with diverse linguistic, cultural, religious and socioeconomic backgrounds

1.4   Strategies for teaching Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students

1.5   Differentiate teaching to meet the specific learning needs of students across the full range of abilities

1.6   Strategies to support full participation of students with disability

AAMT Standards for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics

The Standards fall into three domains: Professional Knowledge, Professional Attributes and Professional Practice.

Standard 1.1  Knowledge of  Students
Standard 1.2  Knowledge of  Mathematics
Standard 1.3  Knowledge of  Students' Learning Mathematics